#ThrowbackThursday Supermodifieds at Kalamazoo Speedway


Growing up in northern Indiana wasn’t a bad thing if you were a supermodified fan. My family and I not only got to see the supers run locally three times a week, but we also made the trek into Michigan to take in the supers just about every time they ran at Kalamazoo.

Starting in the Tri-SAC days and progressing to one-off shows and finally into the years that the International Supermodified Association raced there, Kalamazoo pretty much became our second home. This was especially true when the supers started to die off at places like South Bend Motor Speedway, New Paris Speedway, Baer Field Raceway and Plymouth Speedway.

My most accounts, there was rarely a bad race there and although we lost a couple of drivers because of that dreaded first turn wall, and it’s where I lost one of my best friends, it was always a happy place to be. It’s where I first saw a rear engine supermodified race, first saw drivers out of New York, Texas, and Ohio, first met Dick Beebe, and Jim Shirey, and it’s where I really cemented my love of the division listening to Mick Schuler announce and watching Larry Hotram handle the silks.

Lately Kalamazoo Speedway has struggled with the local populace and for a time over the winter of 2012, we all wondered if the track would open because of a new noise ordinance that was being kicked around.

For now it remains open and I can only hope that someday the supermodifieds will return to a track that, every driver I’ve ever talked to loves to race at, and where every fan enjoys watching those drivers race.


Discover more from Bob Gangwer's Wing Side Up

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Join the Conversation