Tag Archives: dave shullick jr

Shullick, Jr., Bodnar Receive ISMA Awards at Banquet


By Carol D. Haynes, ISMA PR

Oswego, NY – November 21, 2015…The International SuperModified Association, (ISMA) capped off another successful race season Saturday night honoring the top point getters and other award winners with the Turning Stone Casino in Verona once again serving as the beautiful backdrop.

The 2015 championship team of Jim Bodnar and Dave Shullick Jr. were presented their trophy and checks, along with jackets denoting their achievement. Shullick was also awarded the Radical Race Gear Lap Leader prize for leading the most feature laps over the season. Jim Bodnar was recognized as the Locke Crane Services Mechanic of the Year with a $1000 check and a jacket going to the car owner and builder.

The top fifteen car owners were presented their point fund monies and plaques. Fourth through fifteen in the owner points were Ken Locke, Howie Lane, Richard Bien, P&L Vinal Motorsports, Steve Stout (19), Clyde Booth, Brad Lichty, Steve Stout (49), Vic Miller, Yevette Meihls and Mike McVetta. The top three owners, Jim Bodnar, Craig Reed, Mark Sammut received trophies, and checks.

The Driver point fund, sponsored by Lane Tire Sales, KDP Townhouses, Patco Transportation and Carol Haynes and Jim Feeney, was handed out to Dave Shullick Jr., Mike Lichty, Mark Sammut, Jeff Locke, Ben Seitz, Eddie Witkum Jr., Tim Jedrzejek, Trent Stephens, Rob Summers, Dan Shirey, Jon McKennedy, Dan Bowes, Chris Perley, Tim Ice and Mike McVetta, listed from first to fifteenth. Each driver received new driver gloves in addition to their checks.

The Randy Witkum Memorial Rookie of the Year award, sponsored by Shea Concrete, went to Ohio driver Kevin Jaycox Jr. who finished 20th in the standings. He received a jacket and $500 check for the honor.

The ISMA membership votes on the following prestigious awards:

The ISMA Crew of the Year Award was announced as the Lane Racing 97 team, driver Tim Jedrzejek,  with each member given a jacket.

The Lois Matczak Memorial Woman of the Year award was given to Sue Heppell.

The Slice n Go Deli Most Improved Driver jacket and check were presented to Dan Bowes, driver of the Bowes 25, by sponsors Sue and Dennis Heppell.

The annual Jack Murphy Memorial award winner went to Mark Burns, head ISMA tech inspector.

The Jim Soule Memorial Award went to car owner Lee Vinal and the Jim Shampine Memorial award also went to Mark Burns.

Three drivers, by luck of the draw, were presented with contingency awards. Trent Stephens took home the Seymour Enterprises helmet. Jeff Locke received a certificate for a BS &B radiator and a nose wing kit, donated by New England Motor Racing Supply, went to Mike McVetta.

Before Master of Ceremonies Danny Kapuscinski began the evening’s program, many door prizes were given out with the able help of Camryn and Jordyn Sammut. A round of applause went out for the banquet committee which included Terri Bowes, Marsha Gadzera, Kathy Harrington, Dennis and Sue Heppell, Debbie, Howie and Leanne Lane, Bobby Rodier and Anne Schaefer, for their efforts to make the night a success.

Jammin Beats DJ provided the entertainment after the awards ceremonies.

A general membership meeting was held during the afternoon prior to the banquet which included a discussion on some rule changes for 2016, a financial report and introduction of new secretary Jessica Stephens.

A tentative schedule was presented with the 2016 season opening at Oswego Speedway on May 28. June finds ISMA at Delaware Speedway on the 6th and at Lorain Speedway on the 24th and 25th. It’s back to Oswego Speedway for the annual King of Wings on July 9, with a return to Jennerstown Speedway on the 16th and ending the month with the annual Sandusky Hy-Miler weekend on the 29th and 30th.  August has the traditional Lee USA event on the 5th and then Waterford Speedbowl on the 6th.  The Harv Lennox Memorial at Delaware Speedway is slated for August 19th.  September lists Oswego Speedway’s annual SuperNationals on the 3rd, the annual Star Speedway Classic on the 10th.  A return to Toledo Speedway has a tentative date of September 30th, but this was announced as still being unconfirmed with talks with that Ohio track ongoing. As usual, the annual Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park closes out the season on October 14-16.


  • May 28-Oswego Speedway-Oswego, NY
  • June 6-Delaware Speedway-Delaware, Ontario, Canada
  • June 24-Lorain County Speedway-Amherst, OH(ISMA Summercade)
  • June 25-Lorain County Speedway-Amherst, OH(ISMA Summercade)
  • July 9-Oswego Speedway-Oswego, NY (King of Wings)
  • July 16-Jennerstown Speedway-Jennerstown, PA
  • July 29-Sandusky Speedway-Sandusky, OH (Friday Night Fast 40)
  • July 30-Sandusky Speedway-Sandusky, OH (Hy-Miler Supermodified Nationals)
  • August 5-Lee USA Speedway-Lee, NH(Ollie Silva Memorial)
  • August 6-New London-Waterford Speedwbowl-New London, CT (Wings-n-Wheels)
  • August 19-Delaware Speedway-Delaware, Ontario, Canada (Harvey Lennox Memorial)
  • September 3-Oswego Speedway-Oswego, NY(SuperNationals)
  • September 10-Star Speedway-Epping, NH(Star Classic)
  • September 30-Toledo Speedway(Tentative)-Toledo, OH
  • October 14-16-Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park-Thompson, CT(World Series of Asphalt Racing)

ISMA Championship to Ohio with Shullick, Jr., Bodnar

Dave Shullick, Jr. Takes Thompson World Series Win, Clinches First ISMA Title

By Carol D Haynes

““I had hoped we could get a win here today. We had a really good car. I knew we’d be tough if we were there at the end. This really caps off a great season.”

Dave Shullick, Jr.

Thompson, CT – October 19, 2015…On Sunday, at the Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park World Series of Racing, Dave Shullick, Jr.  charged through the field of 25 to take the ISMA 50-lapper and more importantly, the 2015 Owner-Driver championship. In his first full season in ISMA “Shoe II” became the first Ohio driver to claim the title.

At the beginning of the 2015 ISMA season, Dave Shullick Jr. had a set goal, to try for an ISMA championship. He had won the Midwest Supermodified Association (MSA) title and had many wins. When he had run sporadic ISMA events in the past, he’d won on that circuit too. This year the Bodnar-Shullick team chose to run a full schedule with their eye on the championship.

Shullick reflected on his successful season and what it all meant. Continue reading ISMA Championship to Ohio with Shullick, Jr., Bodnar

Shullick, Lichty Take ISMA Points Battle to Thompson

Dave Shullick, Jr. Looking for First ISMA Championship, Mike Lichty, His Second, at Thompson World Series of Speedway Racing

By Carol D Haynes

Oswego, NY – Second-generation driver Dave Shullick Jr., has made many a mark in his racing-career so far, just as his dad has done in the past. The father and son Ohio drivers have paired up for many accomplishments over their careers, but neither has added an International Supermodified Association crown to their resumes….yet.

Shullick Jr., who just surpassed his father in the ISMA All-Time win list this year, is hoping that things will fall in place for him to achieve that championship at the end of the Sunoco World Series of Speedway Racing presented by Xtra Mart at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park this weekend.
Continue reading Shullick, Lichty Take ISMA Points Battle to Thompson