Oswego Speedway Championship Down to the Wire

Oswego Speedway Championship Decided this Weekend with Fall Championship 125 Final

OSWEGO, NY (September 14, 2015) – The year-long battle for Oswego Speedway’s coveted track championships will come to a close this Saturday, September 19 with the running of the Fall Championship 125 for the Novelis Supermodifieds and the Pathfinder Bank Small Block Supers.

Three drivers have a mathematical shot at the Novelis Supermodified track title heading into the weekend including Bob Bond, Otto Sitterly, and Dave Danzer.

Trailing by a total of 45 points Danzer, who qualified on the outside pole position for the Budweiser International Classic 200, is on the outside looking in, leaving the likely championship bout between yearlong rivals Bond and Sitterly.

Bond, who earned his third International Classic win in six years on September 6, completed the fifth lead change of the year in the championship standings all the way back on August 22 when Sitterly ran into issues in his qualifying heat and took ninth in the main event.

With one point win on the season, Bond holds a 12.5 point margin on Sitterly moving to this weekend’s 75-lap event, which will pay $3,000 to the winner and a guaranteed $450 to take the green flag as Bond searches for his first career Oswego title.

Sitterly hopes that the see-saw continues at the top of the standings, with a potential sixth lead change looming, that would grant Sitterly his record-setting eighth supermodified championship at Oswego.

In an up and down season for Sitterly, that has seen five regular season victories but more than one drop of misfortune including spinning while leading the Classic with only nine laps to go, watch for the No. 7 to the rabbit on Saturday evening, putting all the pressure on Bond to keep up.

Dave Gruel and Kody Graham complete the top five in the current Supermodified standings with Pat Lavery, Jeff Abold, Shaun Gosselin, Brandon Bellinger, and Tim Snyder the top ten.

Aric Iosue has long wrapped up the title of Rookie of the Year.

On the Pathfinder Bank SBS side of the pit area as many as nine drivers have a mathematical chance at the 2015 championship.

Jack Patrick, Matt Magner, and Camden Proud are all in the hunt but stand more than 50 points out of the series lead, which will be difficult to make-up.

Dave Cliff, Andrew Schartner, Kreig Heroth, Dalton Doyle, and Anthony Losurdo all stand within 34 points of series leader Mike Bond, holding the best chance to try to steal Bond’s chance at a fourth career championship title.

Former series champions Cliff and Schartner are in the closest position to overcome Bond as Cliff rides only 6.5 points out of the lead with Schartner trailing by 18.5 leading to Saturday’s 50-lap main.

Like Iosue, Alex McRae has wrapped up the title of SBS Rookie of the Year in 2015.

Grandstand gates will open for the Fall Championship 125 finale on September 19 with the beginning of hot laps at 2 p.m.  Racing action will get underway at 4 p.m. with SBS heat action.

General admission seating is only $20 for Saturday’s racing with padded reserved seating set at $25.  Pit passes are $35.

There is a Sunday rain date scheduled for the Fall Championship of Sunday, September 20.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at www.oswegospeedway.com. To purchase tickets, or to talk to a representative, call the Oswego Speedway box office at (315) 342-0646. You can also enjoy the Oswego Speedway on social media @OswegoSpeedway or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway.

2015 Oswego Speedway – Novelis – Hoosier Tire – SUNOCO

Supermodified Driver’s Championship

POS.    ##    DRIVER    PTS.   

  1. 47-BOB BOND*  947
  2.  7-OTTO SITTERLY*****  934.5
  3. 52-DAVE DANZER*  902
  4. 50-DAVID GRUEL*  865
  5. 21-KODY GRAHAM*  861
  6. 22-PAT LAVERY  850
  7. O5-JEFF ABOLD  835
  8. 26-SHAUN GOSSELIN  810
  10. 0 -TIM SNYDER  786
2015 Oswego Speedway – Pathfinder Bank – Hoosier Tire – SUNOCO Small Block Supermodified Driver’s Championship

POS.    ##    DRIVER    PTS. 

  1.  74-MIKE BOND***        907
  2.  50-DAVE CLIFF**        900.5
  3. 18-ANDREW SCHARTNER    888.5
  4.  O4-KREIG HEROTH        883
  5.  O1-DALTON DOYLE*        882
  6.  1-ANTHONY LOSURDO***    873
  7.  9-JACK PATRICK        853
  8.  87-MATT MAGNER        836.5
  9.  54-CAMDEN PROUD        836
  10.  98-JASON SIMMONS        830
Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series banner
This Press Release is brought to you by the Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series, an online sim racing league where you can run your own supermodified. Click the banner to learn more.

Join the Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s