38th Annual Hy-Miler Supermodified Nationals poster

Hy-Miler Supermodified Nationals Weekend Notes

Action Concludes with 100 Lapper Tonight

Contributed by Bob Stascak Elyria Chronicle-Telegram

The 38th Annual Hy-Miler Supermodified Nationals will close tonight at Sandusky Speedway. The action started on Thurs. with Fan Appreciation Night, the racing action was provided by the Buckeye Super Sprints (BSS), Ohio Stocks, Street Stocks and Hobby Stocks. Taking the feature wins on Thursday were Steve Irwin (Buckeye Super Sprints); Jerry Karl (Ohio Stocks); Matt Wilson (Street Stocks) and Brandon Short (Hobby Stocks).

The International SuperModified Association (ISMA) supermodifieds headlined yesterdays racing program, running preliminary events and wrapped up with the Friday Night Fast 40 feature race. The Modifieds were the support division.

Tonight the ISMA supermodifieds and the Modifieds will once again take to the half mile oval with the ISMA Supermodifieds running a 100 lap feature and the Modifieds will have a 50 lap feature.

The current ISMA Supermodified top ten point standings are led by a very familiar name when it comes to supermodified racing in this area, Dave Shullick Jr. who has 672 points. Runner up is Mike Lichty with 635 points followed by Mark Sammut 597; Jeff Locke 563; Ben Seitz 539; Jon McKennedy 533; Eddie Witkum Jr. 519; Danny Shirey 519; Chris Perley 467 and Rob Summers with 449 points.

The current Midwest Supermodified Association (MSA) top ten point standings are Charlie Schultz 162; Jon Henes 157; A.J. Lesiecki 155; Jim Paller 150; Kevin Jaycox Jr. 139; Joey Wyckoff / Kevin Shirey 136; Larry Lehnert 117; Kyle Edwards 81; Mike McVetta 77 and Denny Fisher with 67 points. Jim Paller was the MSA feature winner at Midvale Speedway last Saturday night.

With the current construction that is being done on Rt. 250, race fans might want to consider taking the Rt. 4 exit from Rt. 2 to get to Sandusky Speedway. Today the pit area will open early at 10 a.m. The grandstand admission starts at 1 p.m., qualifying is at 4 p.m. and racing will begin at 7 p.m. Adult admission is $28, $26 Seniors (65+); $7 ages 6-12, $40 for a pit pass. No coolers are allowed in the grandstands.


Join the Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s