Jon Henes and family after MSA win at Sptizer Motor Speedway

Henes Masters MSA Opener

Jon Henes Goes Green to Checker for MSA Win at Spitzer Motor Speedway

(MANSFIELD, OH, June 22nd, 2015)- The grand reopening of Spitzer Motor Speedway of Mansfield Ohio was contested on Sunday afternoon under picturesque skies despite the weeklong threat of rain.  Bob Sibila capitalized on a series of mid-race restarts to win the thirty  lap modified race against twenty of the Midwest’s top short track stars.  Jon Henes led from the  drop of the green to the checkered to win a fourth career Midwest Supermodified Association race at the  tour’s season opening event.

Jon Henes and family after MSA win at Sptizer Motor Speedway
Jon Henes holds the checkered flag and is joined by his father and son after his MSA win at Spitzer Motor Speedway. (Patrick Hahe photo)

When the ground-pounding winged warriors of the Midwest Supermodified Association presented by Adkins Glass were pushed off for their thirty lap affair Jon Henes was on the pole and Kevin Jaycox, Jr.  outside row one.

Jaycox quickly fell to fourth as “Chargin” Charlie Schultz and AJ Lesiecki aboard the May Motorsports team cars took second and third on the first lap.  Kyle Edwards  would be the next to go by Jaycox on lap three for the fourth place, and he would be followed by Jim Paller in the Precision Welders entry dropping Jaycox from the top five by the fifth lap.

On lap eight, Schultz tried a  move to the inside of Henes for the race lead only to have Henes throw a successful block, showcasing his veteran status in the open wheel ranks.  On lap sixteen, Jim Paller pulled  into the infield pit area, releasing the fifth position to Kevin Jaycox, Jr.  However, Jaycox, Jr. would not keep the spot as Joey Wyckoff, in his supermodified debut and driving  for veteran car owner Joe Gillingham, stole fifth from Jaycox on lap twenty despite a broken left sideboard brace on the wing of the Gillingham machine.

Jon Henes would go on to win over Charlie Schultz, Kyle Edwards, AJ Lesiecki, Joey Wyckoff, and Kevin Jaycox Jr.

Henes joins seven other drivers with Mansfield victories in MSA competition out of the eight MSA races ever contested at the facility, including Moe Lilje, Timmy Jedrzejek, Charlie Schultz, Dave McKnight, Jack Smith, Mike Lichty, and Rich Reid.  With that victory, Henes brought his career MSA win total to four, which were all earned at different tracks (Toledo 2005; June 5th, 2010 Sandusky; KilKare 2010; Mansfield 2015).  He also ended a winless streak stretching back to KilKare on July 16th, 2010.

Finally, seeing that the race also happened to be the 2015 MSA supermodified season opener due to the first three races of the season being rained out, Henes joins seven other drivers who have won the MSA season opening event.  This list also includes DJ Shullick, Trent Stephens, Jedrzejek, Schultz, McKnight, Lou Cicconi and Joe Grunda.


Join the Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s