page from isma yearbook

30 Years Since Last ISMA Show at Lorain County Speedway

After Long Hiatus, International Supermodified Association Returns to Lorain County Speedway for Dave & Buster’s Summercade

Oswego, NY –  June 18, 2015...The International Supermodified Association, (ISMA), returns to Lorain County Speedway on June 26-27 after having a long hiatus.

page from isma yearbook
Once they finally got the race in, it was a good one. (Image from supplied PDF-JIm Feeney Photos)

The last time the ISMA organization competed at Ohio’s Lorain County Speedway was back on September 15, 1984 and after a wet weekend, the 100-lapper finally got underway with Doug Saunier beating out Todd Gibson for the win by several car lengths. Gary Allbritain, Bentley Warren, Jamie Moore, Joe Grunda, Dave Shullick Sr., Steve Gioia, Bruce Robey and Ken Williamson finished in the top ten.

Finishing in the second half of the 24-car field were the likes of Ron Henes, Gus Olexan, King Cramer, Garry Evans, Gary Kelly, Bob Smith, Kevin Lyons, Mike Place, Jim Shirey, CoCo Adams, Mark Leutzinger, John Logan, Buck Graham and Gary Weinbroer.

image from pdf of isma yearbook
There were some legendary names racing the last time ISMA visited Lorain County Speedway. (Image from supplied PDF-JIm Feeney Photos)

While that was a generation ago and none of the names above are still in competition and some are no longer with us, there is offspring such as Dave Shullick Jr and Danny Shirey who are following in their dad’s footsteps and ready to go. Shullick already has a win at Lorain, driving the Stout 49 to victory in 2007. Charlie Schultz has racked up 7 wins having three straight in 2008. Timmy Jedrzejek has four wins at The County and Trent Stephens has a couple to his credit among the active drivers.

Even though ISMA has not officially sanctioned a show at “the County” for many years, there has not been any less winged racing at the 3/8 mile asphalt oval.  Thanks to statistician Jeff Lickfelt, he has kept track of all the 33 drivers who have crossed under the Lorain checkers as winners dating back to 2001.

The following is a list of the years, winners and car number:

  • 6/23/01 Denny Fisher (81)
  • 8/11/01 Tim Jedrzejek (7)
  • 10/13/01 Tim Jedrzejek (7)
  • 6/22/02 Pat Shullick (49)
  • 8/10/02 Pat Shullick (49)
  • 10/6/02 Tim Jedrzejek (7)
  • 4/26/03 Dave McKnight (94)
  • 6/28/03 Denny Fisher (81)
  • 8/9/03 Pat Shullick (49)
  • 4/24/04 Tim Jedrzejek (7)
  • 6/27/04 Dave Shullick Sr (19)
  • 8/7/04 Jack Smith (09)
  • 8/6/05 Lou CIcconi (7)
  • 4/29/06 Joe Grunda (1)
  • 5/19/07    Moe Lilje (19)
  • 8/4/07 Dave Shullick Jr. (49)
  • 5/17/08 Charlie Schultz (7)
  • 8/2/08 Charlie Schultz (7)
  • 10/4/08 Charlie Schultz (7)
  • 10/18/08 Bobby Dawson (28)
  • 6/20/09    Randy Burch (49)
  • 8/1/09 Gene Lee Gibson (55)
  • 5/22/10 Lou Cicconi (49)
  • 7/31/10 Charlie Schultz (7)
  • 7/16/11 Moe Lilje (8)
  • 8/13/11 Jack Smith (09)
  • 6/9/12 Trent Stephens (19)
  • 7/14/12 Charlie Schultz (7)
  • 6/8/13 Trent Stephens (19)
  • 8/10/13 Danny Shirey (72)
  • 6/7/14 Trent Stephens (19)
  • 7/5/14 Charlie Schultz (7)
  • 8/9/14 Charlie Schultz (7)

With many of these drivers sure to be in competition, The Dave & Busters 2015 Summercade should be one heck of a weekend of racing.

ISMA has run three events to date with three different winners in Dave Shullick Jr., Mark Sammut, and Timmy Jedrzejek.  All will certainly be on hand for the 2-day Lorain show.  Timmy J will be piloting the same Lane 97 at The County that he is coming off the Oswego win with and Shullick Jr., the current point leader of ISMA, will be looking for a strong run as Mark Sammut is hot on his tail in the point chase.


Gates open for the Friday night, June 26, 50 lapper at 2:00 pm with racing at 7:30. Events included are (ISMA-50,GN-20, C-15) plus Fireworks! & Bronx County Live Band
 “This ain’t grandpaws country music”

Saturday, June 27 Gates open at 10:00 AM & Racing at 7:00 PM. Dave & Buster’s SUMMERCADE 2015 • ISMA SUPERMODIFIED
 presented by M.J. Griffith Paving

Ticket information is available on as are directions, etc.

Lorain County is located just 25 miles west of Cleveland in Amherst, Ohio, just ½ mile south of the intersections of Route 58 and 113. The address is 9100 Leavitt Road, Elyria, OH 44035.


Join the Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s