Oswego Speedway neon sign at night

Large Supermodified Car Count Expected at Oswego Speedway

Oswego Speedway’s ‘Super Spectacle’ Celebrates Supermodified Racing Saturday Night

OSWEGO, NY (May 18, 2015) – One of the most highly anticipated events in recent memory at Oswego Speedway will take place on Saturday night with the running of the Port City 160 ‘Super Spectacle’ presented by Corr/Pak Merchandising and Shea Concrete Products, featuring the Novelis Supermodified Jim Shampine Memorial, the International Supermodified Association Jack Murphy Memorial, and the Pathfinder Bank SBS Tony White Memorial.

The blockbuster event will mark the first time in over ten years that Oswego’s non-wing Supermodifieds and the winged ISMA supermodifieds will compete on the same track, same night.

From 1999-2004, Oswego Speedway held combination events, with the 2003 event being lost to rain.

Bob Goutermout (Novelis Supermodified) and Randy Ritskes (ISMA) were inaugural winners in 1999.  Craig Rayvals (Novelis Supermodified) and Johnny Payne (ISMA) collected the last combination main event victories in 2004.

Saturday’s supermodified events will be the second on the racing calendar for both the Novelis Supermodifieds and ISMA.

Just two weeks ago Otto Sitterly picked up where he left off in Novelis Super action in 2014, winning the 65th annual opening night over Classic champions Bob Bond and Joe Gosek.

Gosek contended on opening night in a team car to Sitterly, and may very well be behind the wheel of that same car on Saturday night as he searches for his first career Shampine Memorial victory.

Plans are also in place for Sitterly to be joined by another teammate in Dave Shullick Jr., who will look to be behind the wheel of a new Hawk supermodified for his 2015 debut.

Sitterly and Shullick will pull double duty on Saturday night, competing in both portions of the ‘Super Spectacle.’

Bond will also try to run both events on Saturday in separate cars, as he hopes to compete on the ISMA side of the card with his own No. 25 machine that won the International Classic and King of Wings in 2010.

Dave Gruel, Jeff Abold, Dave Danzer, Pat Lavery, Keith Shampine, and Kody Graham all also shined on opening night and aim to continue their positive momentum on the non-wing side of the card this weekend.

A full field of Novelis Supermodifieds is expected this weekend with the likes of Shaun Gosselin, Brian Sobus, Michael Muldoon, Aric Iosue, Tim Snyder, Dan Connors Jr., the LeVeas, Brandon Bellinger, Stephen Gioia III, Dave Cliff, Ray Graham, Hal LaTulip, Tim Devendorf, as well as the expected addition of Jerry Curran.

The ISMA season kicked off on Friday, May 15 with Shullick grabbing the checkers at Delaware International Speedway utilizing a last lap pass of Jeff Locke.

A field of 22 ISMA supermodifieds made the trip over the border with defending series champion Ben Seitz, Mark Sammut, Mike Lichty, Jon McKennedy, Chris Perley, Ryan Litt, Eddie Witkum Jr., and Alison Cumens filling the top ten positions.

With a nice turnout at Delaware, all indications point toward a stellar field making the trip to the ‘Steel Palace’ on Saturday, where Shullick and Lichty have dominated recently.

Joining the supermodifieds will be the Pathfinder Bank SBS 35-lap Tony White Memorial.

Dalton Doyle and defending White Memorial champion Andrew Schartner led the SBS field on opening night ahead of Dave Cliff, Russ Brown, and Mike Bruce.

Another top flight night of action is expected on Saturday as JJ Andrews, Alex Hoag, Jack Patrick, Kreig Heroth, Jason Simmons, and Mike Bond all look to chase down the front-runners from two weeks ago.

A special bonus to Saturday’s action will be four fully restored Jim Shampine race cars owned by Dave Hollinger, Jim Paternoster, and Jamie Moore – in honor of the late great champion that the Novelis Supermodifieds will race in memory of this weekend.

The 1966 Shampine supermodified, the 1969 wedge, the 1976 radical offset, and the Shampine sprint car will all be on the grounds Saturday for fans and competitors to admire.

Pit gates for Saturday’s events will open at 11:30 a.m. with hot laps beginning at 1:30 p.m.  Grandstand gates will also open at 1:30 p.m.

ISMA time trials will go off at about 4 p.m. with heat racing at 5 p.m.

Kids 16 and under with paid adult are admitted free as well as active military with ID.

An open practice session will be held Friday night for all three divisions, with hot laps running from 6-10 p.m.  Grandstand admission will be free.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at www.oswegospeedway.com or call (315) 342-0646.  Visit the Speedway on social media @OswegoSpeedway or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway.

Oswego/ISMA Combination winners at Oswego Speedway

  • 1999 – Bob Goutermout (Oswego), Randy Ritskes (ISMA)
  • 2000 – Greg Furlong (Oswego), Dave McKnight (ISMA)
  • 2001 – Mike Ordway (Oswego), Dave McKnight (ISMA)
  • 2002 – Mike Ordway (Oswego), Scott Martel (ISMA)
  • 2003 – RAINED OUT
  • 2004 – Craig Rayvals (Oswego), Johnny Payne (ISMA)
Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series banner
This Press Release is brought to you by the Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series, an online sim racing league where you can run your own supermodified. Click the banner to learn more.

Join the Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s