Michael and Annamarie Strawhand at a NASCAR race

Marketing at Full Speed-How to Find Support for Your Racing Dream


150x56_feat_image_MAFSNote:  Promotional consideration has been provided for the following content.

 

By Marketing at Full Speed owner Annamarie Strawhand

Supermodified Racers,

I have to admit every day how blessed I am to have the most supportive husband in the world who believes in me!  I would not be able to do what I do for my racers and all of you if I did not have my husband Michael’s full support like I do.  We recently celebrated our 15th wedding Anniversary and we have actually been together for 18 years.

We met in racing when he was a plumbing contractor for a new race shop building for a NASCAR Busch Series team I was managing back in 1996. We have a funny story on how he asked me for my phone number and I will have to share it with you some time.

Usually I’m giving advice on how to find financial support for your racing dreams, but I believe it’s vitally important to have personal and emotional support as well. So today I want you to all reflect on the supportive people you have in your life. It may be your wife, husband, mom, dad, best friend or significant other. I know how important it is to have these people around you when you are going after your racing dreams!

But what if you are struggling in your relationships and the people in your life don’t understand your dream and don’t support it?  I struggled with this myself in the early years of my marriage to Michael. This is one of the things I help a lot of racers with and I wrote a blog a while back that gives you solutions to help you with this issue.

I am here to tell you, that you can over come these issues you are dealing with by implementing a  few simple things and you will find your own racing success. I’ve listed out a total of 12 steps that have helped me in this area. Let me share a few with you here:

  1. Take a step back and look at your situation. Make a list of all the positives and all the negatives. If the negatives out number the positives, it’s time to make some changes.
  2. Sit down with your family or significant other and have a heart-to-heart talk. Explain to them that this is your passion in life and their emotional support for your passion is important to you. Explain that you are going to come up with a plan that you can afford to do and set realistic goals for yourself in the sport – that will no longer cause financial and emotional hurt with them. Tell them you want to work out compromises that are fair to all of you. Explain that your plan includes them being a part of your support system – that you need them cheering you on and believing in you, instead of resenting you. Explain if you have this resentment from them, will not be able to even reach the realistic goals you have set. Resentment just breeds more resentment. Explain that you cannot help the way you are about racing, any more than they can help the things that they love and are passionate about. Then stick to the plan and show your emotional and financial support back to them equally for the things that they love, enjoy and are passionate about.
  3. Take some time off from racing or cut back so you have more time in-between races to ‘re-group’ and heal financially. Pick a limited schedule to run based on the events that pay the most and have the most exposure.

These are just the top three steps that you can do to keep that racing passion alive when you are struggling personally and financially. There’s a lot more on my personal advice blog and I’d like to urge you to take about 8 minutes out of your busy day to read them all.

There is one thing that I cherish in my job and that is helping racers gain the FULL support of those around them – we have had so many beautiful turnarounds for so many families!

From my relationship with my husband I am able to pull from this experience of how to have a successful marriage with full and enthusiastic support for a successful racing career. I want you to know that you can have this too!  Enjoy this blog post today – maybe it’s exactly what you have needed.

Talk soon,
Annamarie
Annamarie Malfitana-Strawhand
Motorsports Marketing Mentor and Sponsorship Attraction Coach
Creator of the Sponsor Attraction System™
MarketingAtFullSpeed.com: Where we help racers succeed and offer guidance and solutions to advance your career and attract all the sponsors and opportunities you need.
Join the Conversation

