Bobby G. On the Soapbox

On the Soapbox: Merry Christmas from Wing Side Up


I wanted to take a moment on Christmas Eve to thank those of you that continue to stop by the site. Your continued support is what has kept me doing this as long as I have.

I’ve had to adjust the focus here and there but at the end of the day, I hope everyone still enjoys the different angles Wing Side Up takes. We are just coming from two of our best months in a row hit wise to the site since we lost the .com domain name a year ago and it tickles me pink to think that people would go out of their way to find the website. Thank you!

There’s a few things in the works once 2015 rolls around that will continue to make this site a little different. We are going to bring back our tech section because I believe that an informed fan is a better fan. Bob Bogowicz will be submitting his articles on supermodified technology and I think you’ll enjoy his easy to read style as you read his in-depth supermodified technical articles.

We are also going to bring back the SuperStories section of the site where people can give a story about supermodified racing and how this division has touched every human emotion we know. I think that by allowing YOU to share your thoughts we can not only enjoy reading about each others experiences, but we can also learn from each other about what the division needs and what already makes it great.

If I can figure out a way to make it work within the confines of the WordPress.com format, I’d also like to bring the SuperPicks section back where you can all put your bench racing on the line and pick the drivers that you think will win from week to week.

None of this would be possible without the help of the Original G Squad. Daddy G., Ma G. Wendy Jo PeePee, Little Ricky and D-Monkey have all continued to encourage me to keep the site going regardless of personal feelings and/or frustrations with the direction life and to a lesser degree, the division, has taken. They are my rock. The “Inner Circle” aka my mentors and confidantes have also continued to nurture and push. Thank you.

Of course the WSU Crew of T-Netty, Biggie G., “Rocket” Rob, Triple M., KT, Big Ben, and of course Gold Member, are always there when I have a hair brained idea, need photos, graphics, or scoops, or just need someone to vent to. They took a vision and pushed Wing Side Up ahead of the rest. Bar-NONE. There’s not a better or harder working crew out there. I love them!

As I always do this time of year, I will be taking some time off from updating the site, as well as staying on top of social media. I think it’s important to take a stand on shutting down, tuning out, and focusing in on family. I wish more people would do the same. As much as we have led the way in the supermodified division when it comes to always being on and spreading the word, this time of year should be about spending what little precious time God has given us on this earth to take care of our family and those closest to us.

So with that, I want to again thank you all for your support, your dedication, your candor, comments, shares, retweets, +1’s, emails, and phone calls this past year. I also want to wish you all the most joyous Christmas and hope that you remember what this time of year is really about and that is the best gift of all, a Saviour named Jesus Christ. I hope we can all go into 2015 living as He wants us too and that is caring, loving and doing for our fellow-man.

May your new year be safe, prosperous and full of health. As always PLEASE if you’ve been drinking, don’t drive. We need you all at the next supermodified show!

Keep It Wing Side Up and Wheels to the Ground,

Bobby G.

Bobby G. at Oswego Speedway
Bobby G. strolling the front stretch of Oswego Speedway. Photo by Richard Lesiecki
Join the Conversation

