Joe Gosek chases Cliff Graves and Pat Abold in 1991 International Classic at Oswego Speedway photo by Speedway Press

‘Classic Moments’ Countdown #11 “Double O” Joe Wins His First International Classic

1991 Budweiser International Classic

OSWEGO, NY (August 20, 2014) – As the countdown officially begins toward the 58th annual Budweiser International Classic 200 for Novelis Supermodifieds at Oswego Speedway on Sunday, August 31, we look back at the Top 30 moments in International Classic history, with the help of George Caruso’s 50 Most Memorable Moments of the International Classic.’

With 11 days remaining until the International Classic, the countdown continues with No. 11, Joe Gosek’s first International Classic win in 1991.

Popular Oswego, NY driver, Joe Gosek, came into the ’91 Classic as a dozen year veteran of the event, still looking for that elusive first Classic victory, despite being considered a bonafide contender the last several years.

Whenever it seemed as though Gosek could pull off a 200 win, trouble would strike, and something would always go wrong.

However, in ’91 there was a different feeling in the air.

Gosek started the Classic from the pole position, but a strong field found the potential of at least eight different cars winning the event.

Cliff Graves set a blistering pace for much of the race, and as the event wore down to the lap 175 mark, there were only three cars remaining in contention: Graves, Gosek, and Pat Abold.

Abold showed strength and passed both Gosek and Graves to lead the Classic at lap 190.  At the time it appeared as though “Go Joe” would again be on the short end of a Classic victory.

But, suddenly Gosek came to life in the No. 00.

Joe Gosek chases Cliff Graves and Pat Abold in 1991 International Classic at Oswego Speedway photo by Speedway Press
Joe Gosek(00) looks for room around Cliff Graves(38) and Pat Abold(05) on his way to the 1991 Oswego International Classic victory. (Speedway Press)

Gosek quickly passed Graves for second and with five laps remaining, was challenging Abold for the lead.

Leaning on Abold hard, running the inside, then the outside, and the inside again, Gosek finally got the opportunity he needed.

The winning chance came in turn three, when Abold left just enough room to the inside for Gosek to somehow squeeze his machine between the Abold No. 05 and the inside hub rail.

The two black and sleek racers were inches apart, trying to stay off each other, while also trying to advance.

Hammer down out of turn four to complete lap 197, Gosek screamed to the lead.  Gosek would go on to lead the remaining three circuits to get his first career International Classic victory.

Abold would hold tight for a runner-up finish ahead of Graves, Doug Didero, and Doug Saunier in the top five.

Mike Muldoon, Danny Soule, Jeff West, Joey Moriarty, and Bentley Warren finished the top ten in ’91.

To purchase tickets for Budweiser International Classic Weekend and the 58th annual Budweiser International Classic 200, call the Speedway’s box office today at (315) 342-0646.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at or LIKE on Facebook at or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.  Those interested in Speedway video programming online can subscribe to the Speedway’s YouTube Channel, ‘OswegoSpeedwayOnline’.

50 years Oswego Speedway International Classic
Learn more about the International Classic in this book available from our friends at


Coastal 181 logo
Reading for Racers at

 About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway, a sports entertainment company, is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. Oswego Speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August, 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at Oswego Speedway making Oswego the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds accompany the full-blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, arguably the greatest driver of all time, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, along with former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.


Join the Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s