Kody Graham Untouchable in Oswego Speedway Main

Kody Graham Leads all 50 Laps in Sunday Show at Oswego  Speedway

 OSWEGO, NY (August 18, 2014) – The last time a Oswego Speedway supermodified event was postponed to a Sunday; a Graham drove to victory lane.  This past Sunday it happened again, as Kody Graham drove the Xtreme chassis No. 90 to Turning Stone Resort Casino Victory Lane in dominant fashion, leading all 50-laps, as a part of Oswego County Federal Credit Union and Bosco’s Famous Italian Sausage Night at the Races.

Graham started the main event from the outside pole position, and charged to the lead by the first corner.  From there Graham cruised to victory, slicing through lapped traffic with relative ease, earning his third career Novelis Supermodified main event win at Oswego Speedway in a green to checkered finish, completed in just under 15-minutes.

Michael Barnes and Randy Ritskes tried all they could to chase down the race leader, but fell short, with last week’s winner Joey Payne and championship leader Otto Sitterly finishing the top five positions.

“We’ve had a bit of an up and down year,” said Graham.  “It feels good to have the car rolling like this now, heading into Classic Weekend.  I have to thank all the crew and these Xtreme guys, the car started great but dropped off some around halfway.  We struggled some with lapped traffic, but it all worked out.”

2014 Mr. Novelis Supermodified David Danzer, Joe Gosek, Dave Gruel, Pat Lavery, and Keith Shampine were the top ten runners after 50-laps.

Tim Snyder and Graham led the 23-car field to green on Sunday, with Graham gaining the early edge in the No. 90.

Gosek, Sitterly, Danzer on the Move-

With Graham rolling in front the rest of the field began to set up, with Gosek and Sitterly using the outside to pick off spots.  Each managed to work their way into the top six by the race’s second lap, working around the No. 01 of Dan Connors Jr.

Danzer would be the next to take advantage of a slipping Connors, as Mr. Supermodified slid low on Connors for the seventh spot at lap 11.

By lap 15 Graham was on a roll, charging to a healthy lead on Barnes and Ritskes, who had managed to drive by Snyder and extend a lead of their own on the No. 0.  Snyder, who has had engine issues much of the season, was hanging tight in the top five in the early going.

The Jersey Jet Flies Past-

Further back, last week’s winner Joey Payne was now on the charge from 12th spot, diving under Connors for eighth place on lap 18 into turn three.  The No. 99 of Payne was no doubt making the most moves of any other driver on the track as the halfway point approached.

By lap 25 Sitterly and Gosek continued to work together to move into the top five, as they found room underneath the Snyder No. 0.  However, by the time they had got to fourth and fifth the front three of Graham, Barnes, and Ritskes, were nowhere in sight.

Lapped Traffic Not Much Help-

The only saving grace for the rest of the field’s efforts to catch Graham would be lapped traffic, and he would manage to find a slew of it around lap 28.  Eventually clearing the slower running cars, they were now left for Barnes and Ritskes to deal with, which allowed Graham to extend his lead once again.

With Graham, Barnes, and Ritskes continuing to run away the battle was left for fourth on back between Sitterly, Gosek, Payne, Danzer, Gruel, Lavery, and Shampine.

Payne continued his march in the closing laps, driving under Gosek for fifth on lap 43, then driving around Sitterly for fourth on lap 46.  Starting 12th, Payne was on a mission to get to the front for the second straight week.

However, laps would wind down quickly, with no cautions waving as Graham sped along to his first win of the season, handing the Graham Xtreme team their second consecutive win at the Speedway.

Barnes, Danzer, and Graham claimed Shell Shock Custom Helmet Paint Heat Race Challenge victories.


A total of 25 Novelis Supermodifieds were scheduled to take the green Sunday, but George Groves and Brian Sobus were not able to make it through feature hot laps.

Sobus, debuting the former Gruel driven Supermodified now numbered No. 79, broke coming down the front straight sending the sleek appearing machine into the outside steel.  Sobus was uninjured, but the racecar had to be hooked from the Speedway.  Sobus hopes to have the car repaired in time for Budweiser International Classic Weekend.

Jack Patrick also made his Supermodified debut in the LeVea No. 96 Supermodified, driven in recent weeks by LeVea Sr.  The car is the former Kerfien owned No. 77 Page chassis supermodified.  No word yet whether or not Patrick will attempt to qualify the car for the Budweiser International Classic coming on Sunday, August 31.

With another top five finish, Sitterly now holds a 13-point edge on Gruel for the Novelis Supermodified championship, which will end on Sunday, September 14 as a part of Race of Champions Weekend.

Lavery, Ritskes, and Gosek are the top five in the championship battle each with a mathematical chance at the championship.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at www.oswegospeedway.com.  Follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway or LIKE on Facebook at www.facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway.


Oswego Speedway

Oswego, NY

Sunday, August 17th, 2014

 Novelis Supermodified 50

presented by Oswego County Federal Credit Union and Bosco’s Famous Italian Sausage


Novelis Supermodified Main (50-laps): 1. 90 – KODY GRAHAM, 2. 68 – Michael Barnes, 3. 37 – Randy Ritskes, 4. 99 – Joey Payne, 5. 7 – Otto Sitterly, 6. 52 – Dave Danzer, 7. 00 – Joe Gosek, 8. 50 – Dave Gruel, 9. 22 – Pat Lavery, 10. 55 – Keith Shampine, 11. 01 – Dan Connors, 12. 51 – Michael Muldoon, 13. 5 – Tim Devendorf, 14. 18 – Howard Page, 15. 0 – Tim Snyder, 16. 66 – Lou LeVea Sr, 17. 02 – Brandon Bellinger, 18. 44 – Bobby Haynes Jr, 19. 9 – Stephen Gioia III, 20. 45 – Mike Barbera, 21. 83 – Lou LeVea Jr, 22. 3 – Brian Sweeney, 23. 96 – Jack Patrick, 24. 07 – George Groves, 25. 79 – Brian Sobus

  • Lighthouse Lanes Hard Charger: #66 – Lou LeVea Sr.
  • Lighthouse Lanes Up and Comer: #55 – Keith Shampine
  • Radical Race Gear Lap Leader:  #90 – Kody Graham

Heat #1 (12-laps, all qualify): 1. 68 – Michael Barnes, 2. 37 – Randy Ritskes, 3. 55 – Keith Shampine, 4. 22 – Pat Lavery, 5. 02 – Brandon Bellinger, 6. 5 – Tim Devendorf, 7. 45 – Mike Barbera, 8. 96 – Jack Patrick, 9. 66 – Lou LeVea Sr.

Heat #2 (12-laps, all qualify): 1. 52 – Dave Danzer, 2. 99 – Joey Payne, 3. 0 – Tim Snyder, 4. 7 – Otto Sitterly, 5. 51 – Michael Muldoon, 6. 9 – Stephen Gioia III, 7. 79 – Brian Sobus, 8. 07 – George Groves

Heat #3 (12-laps, all qualify): 1. 90 – Kody Graham, 2. 01 – Dan Connors Jr, 3. 50 – Dave Gruel, 4. 00 – Joe Gosek, 5. 3 – Brian Sweeney, 6. 18 – Howard Page, 7. 83 – Lou LeVea Jr, 8. 44 – Bobby Haynes Jr

Join the Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s