oswego speedway mr supermodified trophy

Oswego Speedway Mr. Supermodified Race Has Rich History

28th annual $10,000 to Win Mr. Supermodified August 2nd


OSWEGO, NY (July 23, 2014) –Oswego Speedway’s summer stretch run toward the Budweiser International Classic 200 Weekend begins Saturday night with the 28th edition of the $10,000 to win Mr. Novelis Supermodified special presented by Davis Bros. Inc. of Oswego.

The 27-year history of the Mr. Supermodified event has provided memorable moments and decorated champions.

Oswego Speedway legends Mike Ordway, Doug Heveron, Mike Muldoon, Steve Gioia Jr., Doug Didero, and Otto Sitterly have all taken home the $10,000 top prize in their careers at Oswego Speedway.

Mike Ordway in Oswego Speedway victory lane after winning 2003 Mr Supermodified
Mike Ordway after winning the 2003 Oswego Speedway Mr. Supermodified. B&G Racing Photos

Ordway leads all drivers in the win column, with a total of six victories in the $10,000 special, as he has became known as the ‘Mr. Supermodified’ of all-time.  With wins in ’90, ’91, ’93, ’02, ’03, and ’04, Ordway’s victories are three better than any of the other 13 drivers to have claimed the honor.

While each of Ordway’s victories was memorable, in that they continued the winning bench mark in the event; several others left race fans talking for many years to come.

Six-time International Classic Champion Greg Furlong is the only driver to date that has  come even remotely close to Ordway’s astounding  feat. Furlong’s three wins were spread out over a six-year period starting in 2001. He then added two more in 2005 and 2007.

In 1987, the inaugural event, Bentley Warren and Doug Heveron raced side by side for several laps before ending the night with a vicious collision in the third turn wall.  Young Gene Lee Gibson took his first career win at Oswego Speedway, beginning a habit of first time winners in the 10K.

Just one year later, Mike Muldoon added his name to the first time fraternity with a Mr. Supermodified triumph.  Muldoon outran Joe Gosek and Ordway to his first career Supermodified win at Oswego.

In 1992, Pat Abold continued a dominant season at the Speedway with a win in the Mr. Supermodified main.  Abold would go on to become the Speedway’s track champion in ’92 with eight wins on the season.  Just four years later, Abold would claim another $10,000 victory in the No. 05.

None would have figured the $10,000 Mr. Supermodified event in 1994 would be the last victory for Speedway great Steve Gioia Jr.  It was a popular win where fans saw Gioia beat out Russ Wood and longtime rival Eddie Bellinger Jr.

tim gareau file photo 2002 jog's racing pix
Tim Gareau made his first Oswego Speedway win worth $10,000 in 1997. JoG’s Racing Pix

The 1997 running of the Mr. Supermodified gave the track one of its most improbable winners when Tim Gareau joined Gibson and Muldoon as first time feature winners collecting $10,000.  Gareau edged top veterans and earlier Mr. Supermodified champions Doug Didero, Gioia, and Abold.

The 1999 and 2000 Mr. Supermodified events also featured popular victories. This time by  eventual Speedway Hall of Fame driver Bob Goutermout.  Goutermout joined Gareau as Small Block Super graduates to win the $10,000 main and joined Ordway as the only other driver at the time to win consecutive Mr. Supermodified events.

Bob Magner in 2008 and 2009 and Ray Graham in 2010 and 2011 then added their names to the consecutive win club with Ordway and Goutermout.

oswego speedway mr supermodified 2011 podium
Ray Graham won his second Mr. Supermodified title in 2011. Here he’s flanked by (L)Randy Ritskes P3, (R)Joe Gosek P2. RG Design Photo

In 2012, the Speedway added another first time feature winner to its list of $10,000 champions as Kody Graham, son of two-time Mr. Supermodified Ray Graham, beat out Gosek and Michael Barnes in a tremendous three car battle for the win.  Kody’s victory made for a Graham three-peat in the race.

The defending champion of the Mr. Supermodified event is  6-time Oswego Speedway track champion Otto Sitterly. In 2013,  he bested Brian Sweeney, Jerry Curran, Dan Connors, and Tim Jedrzejek for the victory.

Sitterly was also triumphant in the 2006 running of the Mr. Supermodified, part of his dominating championship run in that season, but perhaps his most memorable moment in the $10,000 spectacular was his hellacious ride into the inside hub rail in 2011 battling Ray Graham for the win.

This year’s 28th annual event, which will again be contended for 75-laps, is sure to offer more memorable and historical moments.

Fans can reserve seats today for next weekend’s $10,000 to win Mr. Novelis Supermodified presented by Davis Bros. Inc. by calling the main box office at (315) 342-0646.

General admission seating is available for only $20 on August 2 with padded reserved seating for $25.  Pit admission is $35 with VIP seating available for $90.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at www.oswegospeedway.com or LIKE on Facebook at www.facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.  Those interested in Speedway video programming online can subscribe to the Speedway’s YouTube Channel, ‘OswegoSpeedwayOnline’.

$10,000 to Win Mr. Novelis Supermodified Win Totals:

  • Mike Ordway: 6 (’90, ’91, ’93, ’02, ’03, ’04)
  • Greg Furlong: 3 (’01, ’05, ’07)
  • Mike Muldoon: 2 (’88, ’98)
  • Pat Abold: 2 (’92, ’96)
  • Bob Goutermout: 2 (’99, ’00)
  • Otto Sitterly: 2 (’06, ’13)
  • Bob Magner: 2 (’08, ’09)
  • Ray Graham: 2 (’10, ’11)
  • Gene Lee Gibson: 1 (’87)
  • Doug Heveron: 1 (’89)
  • Steve Gioia Jr.: 1 (’94)
  • Doug Didero: 1 (’95)
  • Tim Gareau: 1 (’97)
  • Kody Graham: 1 (’12)

About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway, a sports entertainment company, is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. Oswego Speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August, 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at Oswego Speedway making Oswego the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds accompany the full-blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, arguably the greatest driver of all time, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, along with former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.


Join the Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s