speed sport logo

SPEED SPORT, MAVTV Expand Oswego Speedway Coverage

SPEED SPORT, MAVTV Coverage to include $10,000 to win Mr. Novelis Supermodified Event   


OSWEGO, NY (July 10, 2014) – With the success of Oswego Speedway’s Jim Shampine Memorial broadcast on SPEED SPORT and MAVTV earlier this month, all partners have agreed to expand coverage of the ‘Steel Palace’ to include the August 2 running of the 28th annual $10,000 to win Mr. Novelis Supermodified event presented by Davis Bros. Inc.

Since 1987, Oswego Speedway has promoted the annual Mr. Supermodified title race, billed as an all or nothing event with $10,000 going to the race winner and a normal Saturday night payout being given to second place on back.

Oswego and USAC veteran Gene Lee Gibson won the first Mr. Supermodified event in ’87, his first career Oswego victory, and since that time the race has provided a plethora of Speedway memories and first time winners.

Mike Muldoon, Tim Gareau, Bob Magner, and Kody Graham join Gibson as drivers to have earned their first career Oswego wins in the $10,000 to win special.

The all-time leader in wins for the event, now aptly known as Mr. Supermodified himself, is Oswego Speedway Hall of Famer Mike Ordway.  Ordway took victories in 1990, 1991, 1993, 2002, 2003, and 2004 garnering wins for Graves Racing, Dunigan Racing, and Clyde Booth.

Known across the Supermodified community as one of the sport’s biggest events, the $10,000 to win Mr. Novelis Supermodified will now get national recognition thanks to SPEED SPORT and MAVTV.

Like the Shampine Memorial, the Mr. Supermodified main will be featured on MAVTV’s SPEED SPORT, which will give 60-minutes of coverage of the $10,000 to win crown jewel across the United States.

Ralph Sheheen will again lead the broadcast with Derek Pernesiglio covering all the events from pit road.

An air date for the broadcast is still to be announced, but coverage on that to be announced date will again begin at 8 p.m. EST and PST.

SPEED SPORT and MAVTV’s partnership with Oswego Speedway will continue beyond the Mr. Supermodified broadcast.

The 58th annual Budweiser International Classic 200, which will take place on August 31, will also be broadcast as a part of SPEED SPORT’s schedule on MAVTV on Thursday, September 25.

Feature highlights of the International Supermodified Association at Oswego Speedway will also be broadcast on MAVTV’s SPEED SPORT MAGAZINE.

Highlights of the Speedway’s King of Wings VI main event will be featured on SPEED SPORT MAGAZINE on July 24 as well as special sound and footage from the annual Oswego Speedway Old Timers Reunion.

The Bud Light ISMA Supernationals from Oswego will also see highlight coverage on SPEED SPORT MAGAZINE in September.

MAVTV is available across the United States through local cable and video providers and via satellite on DirecTV channel 214 and DISH channel 248.

Those viewing in the Syracuse, NY area with Time Warner Cable can find MAVTV on channel 402.

MAVTV features all things in American Real Motorsports including ASCS Sprint Car Racing, ATV Pro MX, and now The Dave Despain Show.

For more information on MAVTV as well as SPEED SPORT MAGAZINE and SPEED SPORT visit online at www.mavtv.com.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at www.oswegospeedway.com, follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway, or like on Facebook at facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway.

About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway, a sports entertainment company, is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. Oswego Speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August, 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at Oswego Speedway making Oswego the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds accompany the full-blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, arguably the greatest driver of all time, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, along with former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.


4 thoughts on “SPEED SPORT, MAVTV Expand Oswego Speedway Coverage”

    1. That makes two of us. I made that comment last week in relation to the lack of publicity for the Oswego Speedway Old Timers Reunion and got this reply via Twitter-

      Which led to this-

      There’s no doubt that it’s good to see “The Lady in Grey” get some exposure, she sure needs it after many years of mismanagement, but not all of us are able to enjoy that exposure. Something is always better than nothing though right? Thanks for stopping by. I really enjoy your stuff.


      1. I’d like to see one of the sports networks revive the Saturday Night Thunder format and show a hot lap to feature open wheel show every Saturday night. There’s so much out there and I really believe it would get more viewership than IndyCar is getting right now.


Join the Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s