Dave Shullick Jr King of Wings winner at Oswego Speedway

Dave Shullick Jr. Crowned ISMA King of Wings at Oswego Speedway

Dave Shullick, Jr. Tops Largest ISMA Field of Season

OSWEGO, NY) – The International Supermodified Association returned to Oswego Speedway for the Shea Concrete King of Wings Saturday night and Dave Shullick, Jr. topped the stout 31-car field from practice through the checkered flag.

Shullick, Jr. used some lapped traffic and took advantage of Chris Perley’s  ill-handling car to take the lead just past halfway and never looked back.

Dave Shullick Jr King of Wings winner at Oswego Speedway
Dave Shullick, Jr. won the ISMA King of Wings event at Oswego Speedway. Photo by Speed51

“Chris (Perley) was running a little tight and I knew if he got into traffic he’d have a little bit of a hard time, and that’s exactly what happened,” said Shullick, Jr..  “This car was wicked fast.”

With the crown as King of Wings, Shullick, Jr. became the fourth different driver to take the crown in the event’s sixth edition.

“This is only my third time running this event,” added Shullick.  “To be King of Wings means everything.”

Shullick started back in eighth and methodically picked his way to the front throughout the first half of the race, benefiting from a few early cautions that kept the 23-car starting field bunched up.  Perley was the last driver Shullick had to dispatch of to score the victory.

“My car got wicked tight” said Perley, who finished second.  “We had a second place car and that’s what we got.  It was a fun race.  DJ (Shullick) was wicked fast.  I don’t think traffic was a factor at all in where we finished.”

Two-time King of  Wings winner Mike Lichty, who made more than a couple hair-raising passes on the outside to move up from his 10th starting spot, finished third.

“It was tough,” admitted Lichty.  “We missed it right from the get go.  We just rolled off the trailer and it was different.  It’s not easy at this place to just nail the setup every time like we’ve been doing lately.  We’re fortunate to get out of here third.”

For his dominating performance leading the most laps on Saturday evening, Dave Shullick earned the Radical Race Gear Lap Leader Award and will receive a $100 product certificate from Radical Race Gear.

Eddie Witkum, Jr. charged from the 22nd starting place to finish 13th and claimed the Hard Charger Award sponsored by #1 ISMA Fan for advancing the most positions during the race.

Jon McKennedy, Jeff Locke, and Rob Summers claimed $50 bonuses from Jimmie James BBQ in Scriba, New York for winning qualifying heat races.

Burke’s Home Centers proudly sponsored the traditional ISMA Bike Giveaway, which a lucky fan in attendance was able to take home with them after the event.

The next stop for the ISMA Supermodifieds will be July 25th and 26th for the Hy-Miler Nationals at Sandusky Speedway (OH).

For more information on ISMA, visit www.ISMAsupers.com, “Like” ISMA on Facebook by searching “ISMA” and follow @ISMASupers on Twitter.



King of Wings

Oswego Speedway

Oswego, NY

July 12, 2014

  1. 95-Dave Shullick, Jr.
  2. 11-Chris Perley
  3. 84-Mike Lichty
  4. 37-Jeff Locke
  5. 17-Ben Seitz
  6. 79-Jon McKennedy
  7. 74-Rob Summers
  8. 7-Otto Sitterly
  9. 25-Dan Bowes
  10. 46-Ryan Coniam
  11. 78-Mark Sammut
  12. 98-Justin Belfiore
  13. 21-Eddie Witkum, Jr.
  14. 94-Craig Rayvels
  15. 29-Bobby Chartier
  16. 87-Keith Gilliam
  17. 8-Moe Lilje
  18. 97-Ryan Gath
  19. 55-Mike Keeler
  20. 51 Dave Duggan
  21. 40-Bobby Magner
  22. 19-Trent Stephens
  23. 70-Dave McKnight, Jr.
  24. 61-Lou Cicconi, Jr.
  25. 39-Alison Cumens
  26. 65-Tim Ice
  27. 96-Lou LeVea, Sr.

Heat Race 1: Jon McKennedy, Chris Perley, Dan Bowes, Trent Stephens, Dave McKnight Jr., Alison Cumens, Justin Belfiore, Mike Keeler, Dave Duggan, Lou LeVea Sr.

Heat Race 2: Jeff Locke, Moe Lilje, Otto Sitterly, Mike Lichty, Lou Cicconi Jr., Mark Sammut, Bobby Magner, Bobby Chartier, Lou LeVea Jr., Eric Lewis

Heat Race 3: Rob Summers, Dave Shullick, Ben Seitz, Ryan Coniam, Tim Ice, Ryan Gath, Craig Rayvals, Keith Gilliam, Eddie Witkum Jr., Howard Page

Consolation Race: Eddie Witkum Jr., Bobby Chartier, Dave Duggan, Keith Gilliam, Lou Levea Sr., Lou LeVea Jr., Howard Page, Eric Lewis, Mike Keeler



Join the Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s