wing side up news by bolt document graphic

Charlie Schultz Wins Midwest Supermodified Association Feature at Lorain County Speedway

Schultz Takes Win After Wild Night of Action

Contributed by Bob Stascak Elyria Chronicle-Telegram

July 5, 2014 – Lorain, OH…The Bio Based.US Midwest Supermodified Association (MSA) Supermodifieds made their second appearance of the 2014 season to Lorain County Speedway tonight. The man to beat going into the show is the defending champion and current points leader Trent Stephens. Stephens is on a roll having won the last three MSA features starting here at Lorain County Speedway on June 7, Toledo Speedway on June 13 and Sandusky Speedway on June 21. The MSA will return here on Sat. Aug. 2, 2014.

In the MSA preliminary events it was Dave Shullick Jr. posting the fast time in qualifying at 11.857. The heat race winners were Denny Fisher and Jon Henes. The thirty lap MSA feature race was stopped as soon as it started when Jim Paller flipped coming off turn three. Paller was not injured but was out of the running. On the restart Denny Fisher and Danny Shirey made up the front row with Fisher spinning in turn two before one lap was scored.


On this restart D.Fisher led followed by Trevor Berry, back once again behind the wheel of the Steve Stout owned ACME Racing # 49, Jon Henes,Trent Stephens and Charlie Schultz. The caution flag waved again on lap eight when Henes spun into the infield and Stephens also spun. This restart running order was D.Fisher; Berry; Schultz; Dave Shullick Jr. and Mike McVetta.


Berry took the lead on this restart followed by Shullick Jr.; Schultz; D.Fisher and Kyle Edwards. Berry continued to lead as Shullick Jr. was closing in when the caution flag waved again on lap 23 when Stephens slowed and exited the race. The next lap also brought out the caution flag when Shirey spun in turn one. On this restart both Berry and Shullick Jr. spun in turn three and both would be out of the race.


With six laps to go Charlie Schultz would lead followed by Edwards, Matt Marlowe, Henes and Stephens the top five. Stephens got past Henes for the fourth place but his winning streak was halted here tonight as Charlie Schultz took the checkered flag.


Bio Based .US Midwest Supermodified Association (MSA) Supermodifieds

Lorain County Speedway-Lorain, OH

Fast Qualifier – Dave Shullick Jr. (N.Ridgeville) 11.875
Heat # 1 – Denny Fisher (Amherst); Kyle Edwards (Bartlett, Tn.); A.J. Lesiecki; Trevor Berry (Clio, Mi.); Trent Stephens (Ravenna); Danny Shirey (Oberlin); DNF – Kevin Jaycox Jr. (Sandusky)
Heat # 2 – Jon Henes (Lagrange); Jim Paller (Berlin Hts.); Shullick Jr.; Mike McVetta (Wellington); Charlie Schultz (Lorain); Brandon Fisher (Amherst); Matt Marlowe (Grafton)
Feature (30 laps – 14 cars) – Schultz; Edwards; Marlowe; Stephens; Henes; Jaycox Jr.; Shirey – all completed 30 laps. DNF – Berry (24 laps); Shullick Jr. (24 laps); McVetta (22 laps); D.Fisher (14 laps); B.Fisher (13 laps); Lesiecki; Paller




Join the Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s