Press Release Featured Image Graphic

Oswego Speedway Supermodified Commitment Teams Expand to 26

OSWEGO, NY (January 17, 2014) – Oswego Speedway’s Novelis Supermodified commitment program roster will increase to 26 race teams for the 2014 season.

By signing on to the Oswego Speedway commitment program teams are agreeing to enter each week of the regular racing season at the Speedway.  In doing so, the Speedway agrees to pay an increased and guaranteed purse to start the feature every Saturday night to those teams.  However, if for any reason a team misses more than one night of racing the commitment goes away, and the team is no longer in the program.  At that point teams also have to give up any commitment dollars gained on top of a normal Saturday night purse.

On the Novelis Supermodified side of the roster, 20 of the top 24 teams in points from last season signed into the program for the coming year.  Included among those teams are last year’s championship contenders Otto Sitterly, Joe Gosek, and Shaun Gosselin.

Dave Gruel will return to the program in 2014 but will be behind the wheel of a new Hawk chassis, owned by his own team, with his familiar No. 50.  Gruel will again use Enders power plants and looks to continue his search for a Oswego Supermodified title.

His former teammate Pat Lavery will now be the lone bullet in the Double Deuce Racing chamber, driving the No. 22 for another season.

Joining 2013 feature winners Sitterly, Gosselin, Gruel, and Lavery in this year’s commitment program will be David Danzer and Kody Graham.

The Danzer Racing team is hard at work this off-season preparing a second Hawk chassis for 2014.  The No. 52 and No. 72 are said to be ready for opening day, with the potential for guest driver appearances in the back-up machine during special shows.

Danzer had his best season to date in 2014, finishing 6th in the driver’s championship, as he added another feature win to his resume.  The driver of the Craig Danzer owned No. 52 now has feature victories in each of his first three seasons behind the wheel of a Novelis Supermodified.

The Graham Racing team is also hard at work over these winter months, preparing machines for four different drivers, including 2013 feature winner Kody Graham.

Kody will join his father Ray as well as teammates Jessica Zemken and Joey Payne under the Graham Racing banner, with Strong Racing serving as the crew on the Payne driven No. 99.

Word out of the Xtreme chassis shop is that two new racecars are in the works, one of which will by driven by Payne in his quest for a Novelis Supermodified track championship.

Zemken will again drive the No. 11 Supermodified as she looks to collect Rookie of the Year honors, along with potentially becoming the first female to win a Supermodified main event at Oswego Speedway.

Michael Barnes, Michael Muldoon, Dan Connors Jr., and Brandon Bellinger all finished in the Top 10 of the driver’s championship in 2013 and will return to the full-time commitment program in 2014.

When the gates open for racing in May both Barnes and Muldoon will drive through the tunnel with brand new Supermodifieds.

As reported earlier, Barnes will be behind the wheel of a brand new Hawk chassis fielded by Syrell Racing with crew chief Joe Hawksby Jr. making set-up calls on the No. 68.

Muldoon will sit inside a new Muldoon Racing creation, coming out of the team’s home base in Baldwinsvile, NY as the No. 51.

Nine other Supermodified pilots will re-join the program that finished in the  Top 24 of the driver’s championship one year ago including Dave Cliff, Tim Snyder, Brian Sweeney, Tim Devendorf, Jerry Curran, Keith Shampine, Hal LaTulip, Lou LeVea Sr., and Lou LeVea Jr.

Looking to make a return to the scene this season will be Stephen Gioia III in the Gioia Racing No. 9.  Gioia competed full-time in 2012, but only ran one Supermodified main event in 2013, coming behind the wheel of the back-up Strong Racing No. 98.

Jeff Abold will also look to be a more regular competitor at the Speedway in 2014 with the Abold Racing and built No. 05.  The team’s new creation debuted in 2013, but after handling issues the car was parked for much of the season.  Abold did compete in their older back-up machine in special events, with good results.

Of all 26 teams, one driver in the program is making a return after several years’ absence.

Bob Reis joins the commitment roster in 2014 with the No. 4, a former Muldoon chassis.  Real has spent the past several years competing in 360 winged Sprint Cars, DIRT Sportsman Modifieds, asphalt Modifieds, and did run one ISMA Supermodified main at Oswego in 2013.

The 2014 racing season at Oswego Speedway begins May 3rd as the Pathfinder Bank SBS series joins the mighty ISMA Supermodifieds to open the Speedway’s 64th season of competition.

The Novelis Supermodifieds will open their campaign with the 53rd annual ‘Oswego Super Kick-Off’ on May 10 with a 50-lap feature go.

Open practices will be held at the Speedway on April 26 and May 2.

For more information on Oswego Speedway be sure to visit  You can also LIKE the (Official) Oswego Speedway page on Facebook, or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.  To buy tickets or order merchandise please call the Speedway box office at (315) 342-0646.


  1. 00 – Joe Gosek
  2. 01 – Dan Connors Jr.
  3. 02 – Brandon Bellinger
  4. 05 – Jeff Abold
  5. 06 – Dave Cliff Jr.
  6. 0 – Tim Snyder
  7. 3 – Brian Sweeney
  8. 4 – Bob Reis
  9. 5 – Tim Devendorf
  10. 7 – Otto Sitterly
  11. 9 – Stephen Gioia III
  12. 11 – Jessica Zemken ®
  13. 21 – Kody Graham
  14. 22 – Pat Lavery
  15. 24 – Jerry Curran
  16. 26 – Shaun Gosselin
  17. 50 – Dave Gruel
  18. 51 – Michael Muldoon
  19. 52 – David Danzer
  20. 55 – Keith Shampine
  21. 56 – Hal LaTulip
  22. 66 – Lou LeVea Sr.
  23. 68 – Michael Barnes
  24. 83 – Lou LeVea Jr.
  25. 90 – Ray Graham
  26. 99 – Joey Payne

Join the Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s