Press Release Featured Image Graphic

27th annual $10,000 Mr. Novelis Supermodified Title Up for Grabs Saturday at Oswego Speedway

OSWEGO, NY (July 29, 2013) – The second richest race in all Supermodified racing, next to the Budweiser International Classic 200, will take the green flag this Saturday night at Oswego Speedway as the title of Mr. Novelis Supermodified is on the line with a hefty prize of $10,000 awaiting the winner.

The 26-year history of the Mr. Supermodified event has provided memorable moments and decorated champions.

Oswego Speedway legends Mike Ordway, Doug Heveron, Mike Muldoon, Steve Gioia Jr., and Doug Didero have all taken home the $10,000 top prize in their careers at the Speedway.  However, the race has also come to be known as a catalyst for young drivers, as multiple time s the event has produced a first time winner.

In 1987, the first year of the Mr. Supermodified event, Gene Lee Gibson ran to victory lane for his first career Supermodified win at Oswego.  Just one year later, Mike Muldoon would do the same, kick starting a Hall of Fame career at the ‘Steel Palace.’

In 1997, perhaps the most improbable winner, Tim Gareau beat out top shoes Didero, Gioia, and two-time champion Pat Abold.  Gareau would go on to win 12 more Oswego features and capture the 2004 Speedway championship.

Bob Magner would be the next of the first time fraternity to score in the Mr. Supermodified as he drove to the victory in 2008.  Magner would actually win the event two years in a row, doubling up in 2009.

Just last season the Speedway added another first time winner to its list of $10,000 champions as Kody Graham, son of two-time Mr. Supermodified Ray Graham, beat out Joe Gosek and Michael Barnes in a tremendous three car battle for the win.  Kody’s victory made for a Graham three-peat in the event, as Ray took top honors in 2010 and 2011.

In 2013 there are a host of drivers still looking for their first career win including Shaun Gosselin, Michael Muldoon, Brandon Bellinger, Dan Connors Jr., Tim Devendorf, and Brian Sweeney.  Perhaps this year’s Mr. Supermodified could be their time to shine.

At the same time there is also a list of multi-time winners at Oswego, still seeking their first Mr. Supermodified crown.

Dave Gruel, Barnes, Dave Danzer, and Jerry Curran have multiple Oswego wins without a $10,000 check, but without a doubt the biggest name is that of Gosek.

Gosek is the lone driver remaining in this year’s field that competed in the first Mr. Supermodified back in 1987.  In that inaugural event Gosek finished dead last, but since then he has racked up nine career top five finishes and an amazing six runner-ups without a victory.  The driver of the No. 00 has yet to record a feature win in 2013, but rides second in the current Speedway standings behind Otto Sitterly.

Sitterly was triumphant in the 2006 running of the Mr. Supermodified and with his victory in the RoC 100 two weeks ago at the Speedway, he now holds an 8-point edge on Gosek in the race for the Speedway title.

Sitterly’s 2006 victory in the Mr. Supermodified event was a part of his dominating championship run, but perhaps his most memorable moment in the $10,000 spectacular was his hellacious ride into the inside hub rail in 2011 battling Ray Graham for the win.  After finishing sixth in the 2012 edition of the race, Sitterly is ready to cash another $10,000 check.

Shaun Gosselin sits third in the championship standings in the No. 26, riding the best season of his career at the Speedway.  Gosselin’s best career finish in the Mr. Supermodified is 11th coming back in 2011, but the driver of the Greene’s Ale House machine no longer looks in the rear view mirror.

Gruel and Barnes finish the top five in the Supermodified standings heading into this weekend.

Gruel picked up a big win at the Speedway back on July 6, while Barnes led the Speedway standings through the early part of the season before issues in the last couple weeks have dropped him to 5th in the battle for the title.

Racing begins Saturday night at 6:30pm and is presented by Novelis, Pathfinder Bank, and POMCO Group.  General admission seats are available for the premier event for $20, a $10 decrease from one year ago.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at, FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway, or LIKE on Facebook at

Former Mr. Novelis Supermodified Winners:

  • 1987 – Gene Lee Gibson
  • 1988 – Mike Muldoon
  • 1989 – Doug Heveron
  • 1990 – Mike Ordway
  • 1991 – Mike Ordway
  • 1992 – Pat Abold
  • 1993 – Mike Ordway
  • 1994 – Steve Gioia Jr.
  • 1995 – Doug Didero
  • 1996 – Pat Abold
  • 1997 – Tim Gareau
  • 1998 – Mike Muldoon
  • 1999 – Bob Goutermout
  • 2000 – Bob Goutermout
  • 2001 – Greg Furlong
  • 2002 – Mike Ordway
  • 2003 – Mike Ordway
  • 2004 – Mike Ordway
  • 2005 – Greg Furlong
  • 2006 – Otto Sitterly
  • 2007 – Greg Furlong
  • 2008 – Bob Magner
  • 2009 – Bob Magner
  • 2010 – Ray Graham
  • 2011 – Ray Graham
  • 2012 – Kody Graham

About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway, a sports entertainment company, is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. Oswego Speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August, 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at Oswego Speedway making Oswego the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds accompany the full-blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, arguably the greatest driver of all time, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, along with former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.


Join the Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s